Buffet at Flame & Grill ~ A Complete Review

We all have a foodie inside us. Believe it or not, it’s true. And for me, I am the kind of person who forgets everything if served with good food. Honestly, food is the purest form of joy. And when it comes to good food, life feels awesome. I am a foodie before anything else. If not an engineer, I would have been a chef for sure.
Before I move on to the review, I want to thank ZOMATO for granting me my blogger access. And this is gonna be my first restaurant review after being a certified zomato blogger  B-) Really zomato……much love! Keep the foodie in us all alive!

Recently my sister flew down with my one year old niece here. Since we all missed our dearest Saana’s birthday , sis decided to treat us all here at our very favorite “Flame & Grill” restaurant. Being foodies, all of us readily agreed.

Flame & Grill, was one of those restaurants that started offering live bar-b-que here in Kolkata. Now many buffet joints have opened but this continues to be many of our’s favorite. I remember having my first bar-b-que and buffet session here. That is why it’ll always remain very special to me.

I don’t know how many of you reading this have visited there, but, to begin with, Flame & Grill is a meat lover’s delight. Yes there are options in veggie too but I was alwaaaaaays interested in the non-veg one 😛  It is famous for its array of kebabs and starters. Trust me, they serve so much of starters that you won’t have any place left for main course or dessert. I won’t go into the interior decor and all. I’d rather focus on the food in this post. So, without much delay……let’s start..!

The first thing you’ll be served are starters. There are varieties of them. Few of them are Prawn kebab, chicken tandoori, shammi kebab, fish chop, chicken malai roll, another variety of chicken kebab and lots more. Last day I managed to click pics of very few of them but guys I am sorry…..I couldn’t carry my camera, so had to click using my phone. Few pics may seem dull because of the low lights.

12

The first pic is of chicken malai roll and fish chop. Now, their menu keeps changing. So I would humbly request the chef that “Pllllleeeeeeeaaase keep the chicken malai roll in your menu forever”. Its light tortillas filled with soft juicy chicken tossed in white sauce and cheese. Its not overpowering, has the perfect seasoning, its light and yummmmyyyy. It’s one of my favorites now. The fish chop was okay-ish. Mom and sis loved it though. I guess, I can’t complain. And in the second pic, you can see how its stashed with kebabs. Don’t they look yummy?? I am getting hungry now! You can eat as much as you want here. Yes. AS MUCH AS YOU WANT.

After gorging on them, I was almost full. It was then time for main course. Here I don’t have all the pics but there are many variants in both veg and non-veg areas. I am giving the list below:
IN VEG: Steamed rice, pulao, dal makhani, paneer saag masala, kumbh sabzi, chef’s special sabzi, teel mili sabzi and veg salads.

IN NON-VEG: Kolkata dum biryani, butter chicken, chef’s special mutton, chef’s special fish, jhinga masala and three kinds of salads.

In bread they have naan and lachha paratha.

45

I simply loved the biryani. It was light, mildly spiced and tasty. Butter chicken could have been better. Dal makhani was really nice. Special mention goes  to the “Chef’s special fish” and “Jhinga masala”. They were yummy. The naan was soft and fluffy. Paneer saag masala was super yummy. I love anything that is made with paneer so…..! Kumbh sabzi was quite good too.  What I didn’t like was the “Chef’s special mutton”. It was a no-no for me.

Now after all these, comes the dessert section. I was soooo much full already but can’t give up dessert. `

6

The mousses were really good….especially the paan flavored one. It was really really good. It had such a unique flavor. Chocolate mousse was also nice. BUt I didn’t like the pineapple one. If you are an ice-cream lover, then Flame & Grill offers you four varieties of ice cream and you can have as much as you want. You can top them with chocolate sauce, strawberry jelly, mango jelly, sweetened nuts and even chocolate chips. But I went with the classic “Gulab Jamun with Ice Cream”. They had soft hot gulab jamuns floating and I simply couldn’t resist. Had quite a few of them. They also had shahi tukda and peanut butter with chocolate brownie. They were equally good. They also had a chocolate cherry roulade which wa again okay-ish. They were serving dudhi halwa yesterday and noooooo its not for me. I think the dudhi had to be cooked a little bit more. It felt raw.

So……are you guys hungry yet???? I bet you are. Simply grab your wallet and rush to Flame & Grill today. They are a complete value for money restaurant with buffet service. Apart from all these what I loved was the behavior of the staffs. They were soooo friendly and helpful. I loved it again. Every time I am there, I fall in love with it a little more. But to be honest, the quality of food was little better when they first opened. I strongly feel, if they  put a little bit more effort, this will be one of Kolkata’s biggest buffet joints. Even now they are. And no matter what, we will always love you 🙂

I took the screenshot to let you guys know about the pricing. Hope you find it useful 🙂
wp_ss_20160425_0001

Without much delay, treat the foodie in you to some real good dishes here at Flame & Grill. Don’t forget to comment below about your experience and also tips regarding how I can improve my blog 🙂
Till then…..take care guys…..Much Love XOXO

Flame & Grill Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

