Chinese at the OASIS Restaurant ~ Review

Helloooo foodies, how are you all ??? I hope everything in your lives are crispy and delicious! If you are reading this, it means that you are a foodie or else why would anyone ever read the review of restaurants. I think we all are foodies here. Who doesn’t love to eat good food…!  I literally live to eat. Okay, so without wasting much time let me take you straight to one of the old restaurants of Kolkata. Yep this restaurant has renovated itself but I’ll still call it old because I can remember visiting this particular restaurant since I was a child.

Situated in Madge Lane at Esplanade, or as we lovingly call “The narrow street exactly opposite to New Market”, Oasis has been serving customers since a long time. The restaurant is situated between two tailoring shops and there are high chances that you’d miss it. Atleast I miss it every time. As you enter, you’d find two tables on the first floor and if you go up, you’d find a bigger sitting area. Last week, I went there to do some shopping. I was sooooo hungry that I decided to may my old friend a visit here. Since I can recall, I have never seen any other customer walk in tot his restaurant. Or maybe its on the days that I go there they aren’t hosting customers. I have always had lunch/dinner alone over here. I think this is the case with many people and that is why so many on Zomato have commented that it’s a dying restaurant. But, I am telling you, if you are ever here and at Esplanade or near Hogg’s Market, pay this restaurant a visit. Now, let’s move on to the review.

We walked in and the only person inside walked us to a table of four and we were seated. The decor inside is nothing over the top. It’s just a decent restaurant. White plates, condiments in white containers, white salt and pepper shakers were sitting all pretty on a deep blue table cloth.

12

These three containers on the top had tomato sauce, chilli sauce and vinegar and chillies……left to right. And it is the smell of the chillies soaked in vinegar that provoked me to have chinese…..I’d rather say Indo-Chinese that day. I went with mom and dad. Mom doesn’t eat anything apart from home cooked food and dad wasn’t that hungry. So. he ordered “Cream Of Tomato” soup for himself and I ordered “Mixed Chowmein” and “Garlic Chicken”.

3

This one is the cream of tomato.  It costs Rs.98 for a full plate. Now, I am not a big fan of cream of tomato soups. As a matter of fact I don’t like soups that much. But this one was simply too good. I have never tasted plain tomato soup that is sooooo delicious. I never thought that a simple tomato soup can be this yummy. They even added croutons which were crispy and were just starting to soak up the soup. I had one sip of it and was amazed. The seasoning was perfect, it was not too spicy nor to bland. If you are a fan of soups like my dad then get this one. I cannot really praise this enough.

Next came on the table the chowmein and garlic chicken. The Mixed Chowmein costs Rs.145 a plate and the garlic chicken is priced at Rs.195 a plate. One plate of garlic chicken has 8 succulent pieces of coated and fried chicken.

4

The quantity of chowmein is enough just for 1 person. Previously the quantity that they served was much more compared to the current times. They have increased the price but the quantity has reduced. Why do people do that…..this is where we foodies are hurt you know 😦

5

Taste wise, the chowmein was decent….like the ones we get at any other chinese restaurants. Seasoning was perfect (though I added little vinegar and chillies to it). I took mixed chowmein so it had pieces of egg, chicken and even tiny prawns. There were also veggies which were crunchy yet not raw. I liked it. It is a decent dish. Just because I am not a big fan of rice so I didn’t order fried rice and went for this one. Not a decision that I’ll regret. Honestly, it was good.

6

The Garlic Chicken was damn good. This was the star of the entire meal I had. The chicken was not overcooked, coated nicely and the gravy was just heavenly. It complimented the chowmein sooo well. It was not too spicy nor it had an overpowering taste of garlic. Perfectly seasoned, well cooked, juicy chicken pieces. Next time I am going there, I’ll be ordering it again.

7

Seriously, how beautiful does it look on the plate!

Coming tot he price. Had only 3 things and had to pay Rs.528. I mean…..whaaaaaaat????? Yep the price is a bit on the costlier side. This is not a restaurant where I’ll go everyday or once a week. It’s good for the times when you are meeting your old friends after a looong time or simply have made plans to go to date (you can go to date here because you know why…..there are hardly people in there 😛 ). I’m putting up a pic of the bill so you get an exact idea of the charge and all.

8

Now….VERDICT TIME!!!!

Rating: I’ll give it a 4 out of 5. Deducting .5 each for being pricey and the little quantity that they are serving.

Will I go there again??? Hell yeah…..but now sooner! Maybe after few months or so!

One thing for the manager or owner of this restaurant. Your restaurant honestly serves good food. I never had a bad experience here. Yep it’s dying. Save it. Either increase the quantity a bit or reduce the price and yes try to promote it. It’s a good place and I’ll be hurt if it shuts down.

For they who don’t eat chinese or don’t like chinese, they even serve north Indian food and continental food.  Even they taste quite good. Go try it and you won’t regret it.

I hope you guys have enjoyed this review. I have got a few review lined up. Would be posting them soon. Don’t forget to comment below about anything you feel about my blog. I love to hear from you guys. And I’d be sooo grateful if you go and like my facebook page here. You can also follow me on Roposo. Till the next time….Lots of Love……XOXO.

 

Oasis Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Chinese at the OASIS Restaurant ~ Review

Leave a Reply

